Headshot of Dr. Matthew Strittmatter

Elizabeth Davis Middle Principal Matthew Strittmatter has been named the 2024 Outstanding Middle School Principal of Virginia by the Virginia Association of Secondary School Principals. The association annually recognizes outstanding school leaders who succeed in providing high-quality learning opportunities for students. 

“Matthew Strittmatter is a game changer, and we are proud to have him on Team Chesterfield,” said Dr. Mervin B. Daugherty, superintendent of Chesterfield County Public Schools. “His leadership and creativity have built a supportive and energetic environment for teaching and learning at Elizabeth Davis Middle.”

Dr. Strittmatter has led Elizabeth Davis Middle since 2019, previously serving at Falling Creek Middle as associate principal, assistant principal dean of students and English teacher/department chair. He said, “I am humbled to receive such a prestigious award from the Virginia Association of Secondary School Principals. There are so many incredible leaders across the commonwealth and to be in this conversation is truly an honor. 

“I am proud of the work we have accomplished at Elizabeth Davis Middle School, and I am truly looking forward to what the future holds,” Dr. Strittmatter continued. “We have an incredible leadership team and an extraordinary staff who go above and beyond for students and their families on a consistent basis. We operate on ‘family first’ and ‘relationships over everything’ mantras that, I believe, have created a strong, cohesive school community that is fully connected. It is our belief that every child deserves to have the opportunity to experience a rigorous, relevant and engaging learning experience where expectations remain high. When we triangulate the learning process by connecting the teacher with the student and the parent, incredible possibilities exist.”

Dr. Strittmatter will be honored at the Virginia Middle and High School Principals Conference in June and will be recognized at the 2024 National Principals Conference with other state winners.